Tessa Lunney’s debut novel sold to HarperCollins in Australia and Pegasus Books in the US

We are twice as excited to announce that Tessa Lunney’s sparkling novel April in Paris, 1921 has been acquired by HarperCollins in Australia AND by Pegasus Books in the US!

April in Paris, 1921 is an upmarket female spy thriller set in post-war France that follows the exploits of Kiki Button – war veteran, party girl, detective, and spy. This is Tessa’s debut novel and will be released in Australia and the US in July 2018.

 

Stone Circle cover reveal + review

In the lead-up to the December 2017 release of Kate Murdoch’s debut novel, Stone Circle, we’re excited to reveal the cover and share an extract from an early review:

“Murdoch presents a delightful romance, feathered with light touches of fantasy … Italy sparkles in this layered 16th-century romance.” – Kirkus Reviews

Stone Circle cover

The Rag Tag Fleet in store now!

Ian W Shaw’s wonderful new nonfiction book, The Rag Tag Fleet, published by Hachette Australia, is now available in all good book stores and online.

https://www.hachette.com.au/book/the-rag-tag-fleet-wto

 

Ilsa Evans longlisted for the 17th Davitt Awards

Congratulations to Ilsa Evans, who has been longlisted for the Sisters in Crime 17th Davitt Awards.

Dastardly Deeds is the fourth book from the Nell Forrest mystery series, and the third to be recognised in the prestigious Sisters in Crime Awards.

99 books of murderous intent in contention for Sisters in Crime’s 17th Davitt Awards

Elisabeth Holdsworth awarded the 2017 RAFT Fellowship

Congratulations to Elisabeth Holdsworth, who has just been awarded the 2017 Australian Book Review RAFT Fellowship.

From the ABR press release: “Elisabeth was the inaugural winner of the Calibre Essay Prize in 2007. She is the 15th ABR Fellow to be named since 2011, and she receives $7,500 from ABR. In her Fellowship essay, Elisabeth will explore the nature of progressive Judaism in Australia, Israel, and the United States. This was our largest Fellowship field to date …”

 

New YA fantasy series by Ilsa Evans to be published by Harbour Publishing House

We are excited to share the news that the talented team at Harbour Publishing House will be publishing the new YA dystopian fantasy series by best-selling Australian author Ilsa Evans.

The first title in the series, Stratification, is Ilsa’s 14th novel and her first YA book. It will be published in late 2017.

 

Stone Circle acquired by Fireship Press

We are pleased to announce that Kate Murdoch’s debut novel, Stone Circle, has been acquired by Fireship Press.

Stone Circle is a richly-imagined historical fantasy novel that draws the reader into an exotic 16th century world of love triangles, supernatural gifts and dramatic escapes.

Fireship Press will publish the book in late 2017/early 2018.

 

The River released in North America

Congratulations to Krystal-Lee MacRae! Her stunning debut YA fantasy The River has been released today in North America. For more information and to order:

http://www.chamber-press.com/shop/

KIYA IS CHOSEN…

As a child, she survived falling in the deadly river that surrounds her island home, cursing her with a strange tattoo and the question of why. Now, she must travel across the water to get supplies for her people. That is, if the creatures that lurk beneath the surface don’t get her first. The inhabitants of the water are not the only thing that Kiya fears, however. The river may have spared her life; will it take her mind in return?

 

Tessa Lunney wins the Josephine Ulrick Prize for Literature

We are very proud to announce that Tessa Lunney is the 2016 winner of the prestigious Griffith University Josephine Ulrick Prize for Literature!

2016 Josephine Ulrick Prize

 

This Thing of Darkness acquired by Scholastic

We are pleased to report that Scholastic Australia have acquired This Thing of Darkness, a YA novel by Melbourne writer Matt Davies.  This Thing of Darkness is a relatable and moving story about 17-year-old Riley that explores the power of understanding and forgiveness – even when the pain is unbearable and the crime unspeakable.

The manuscript first came to public attention when it was highly commended in the Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards for an Unpublished Manuscript. The book will be released in Australia by Scholastic in mid-2017.

 

The River cover reveal

We are excited to reveal the cover for Krystal-Lee MacRae’s exquisite Young Adult fantasy novel, The River.

The_RIver_cover

The River will be released in North America by Chamber Press in September 2016.

 

Dastardly Deeds out now!

Ilsa Evans new book Dastardly Deeds is out now through Momentum Books.

“It was supposed to be the holiday of a lifetime …

When Nell Forrest’s life hits a speed bump (which is most definitely not a midlife crisis) a cruise around the Mediterranean seems like just the ticket.

Unfortunately, that’s an idea shared by her mother, her ex-husband, his new partner, and a police detective with whom Nell has a stormy history. Fortunately, meditation is just one of the many activities offered aboard the luxury liner, but Nell will need more than that to face what lies ahead.

A tragic death in Rome is quickly followed by another in Turkey. Then an unexpected discovery provides a link between the two, and Nell must stow her plans for relaxation once and for all.

One of her shipmates is a cold-blooded murderer, and it seems that Nell is the only one with the wherewithal to figure it out. But figure it out she must, because the murderer, like the cruise, has only just begun …

Dastardly Deeds is the fourth book in Ilsa Evans’ Nell Forrest Mystery series.

This cosy mystery is perfect for fans of Alexander McCall Smith, M.C. Beaton, Kerry Greenwood and Joanna Fluke.”

You can read more about it or purchase the book here