Hindsight Literary Agency represents the following authors:

Matt Davies

Matt Davies has been a full-time writer for 10 years. He has ghostwritten seven nonfiction titles, written feature articles for a number of Australian magazines, published more than 100 articles online for the health sector, and written scripts for television commercials and documentaries. Matt sat on the board of Australia’s Emerging Writers’ Festival for five years, including two years as chair.

Matt’s debut YA novel, This Thing of Darkness, was highly commended in the Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards for an Unpublished Manuscript, and will be published by Scholastic in early 2018.

Ilsa Evans

Critically-acclaimed author Ilsa Evans has published 13 novels across a range of genres, from light fiction and short stories to memoir and murder mystery. Her most recent novel is Dastardly Deeds (2016) and is the fourth installment in the Nell Forrest Mystery series (Momentum Books/Pan Macmillan). Two of her previous titles have been shortlisted for the prestigious Davitt (Sisters in Crime) Awards.

Ilsa also teaches creative writing students, writes social commentary and has been published in several newspapers and online journals. In 2011, she received the Eliminating Violence Against Women (EVA) Award for online journalism.

Ilsa’s first YA novel, Stratification, will be published by Harbour Publishing House in early 2018.

Elisabeth Holdsworth

Elisabeth Holdsworth was born in The Netherlands. She migrated to Australia with her parents in 1959. On her father’s side she is the scion of an aristocratic, Calvinist family. On her mother’s she is the last thread of a Jewish line. Her first novel, Those Who Come After (Pan Macmillan) was widely-acclaimed and later published in the Netherlands and Poland. Elisabeth was the winner of the Inaugural Calibre Prize (Australian Book Review) for An Die Nachgeborenen, inaugural essayist for the Wheeler Centre’s Long View Series and winner of the Melbourne Jewish Writers Festival prize for an essay, 2014.

Her articles, reviews and commentaries have appeared in The Monthly, Australian Book Review and Transnational. Elisabeth has published short stories and poetry in literary journals, including Southerly, Island, Ginninderra Press Anthology, Mattoid and others. Her essays have appeared in The Monthly, ABR, Heat, Southerly, Best Australian Essays and Australia a Cricket Country (Hardie Grant, 2011).

Her prize-winning essay, An Die Nachgeborenen, will be republished in book form as part of an ABR collection in 2016.

Tessa Lunney

Tessa Lunney is a novelist, poet, and academic. In 2013, she graduated from the Western Sydney University with a Doctorate of Creative Arts that explored silence in Australian war fiction. In 2016, she won the prestigious Griffith University Josephine Ulrick Prize for Literature for ‘Chess and Dragonflies’ and the A Room Of Her Own Foundation Orlando Prize for Fiction for her story ‘Those Ebola Burners Them’. In 2014, Tessa was the recipient of an Australia Council ArtStart grant for literature.

Tessa’s poetry, short fiction, and reviews have been published in Southerly, Cordite, Mascara Review and Contrapasso, among others. Tessa currently works as the Editorial Assistant for Southerly and as a casual academic at universities around Sydney.

Kate Murdoch

Kate Murdoch is a Melbourne-based writer and artist. Her short-form fiction is regularly published in publications such as Flash Fiction MagazineEunoia Review, Sick Lit Magazine, Ink in Thirds and Spelk Fiction. She also writes at her blog: https://kabiba.wordpress.com/

Kate’s debut historical fantasy novel is Stone Circle and will be published by Fireship Press in December 2017.

Krystal-Lee MacRae

Krystal-Lee MacRae is a Young Adult author from north coast NSW. A graduate of the Curtis Brown Creative Writing Course for Children, Krystal now studies creative writing at Southern Cross University.

Her first novel, The River, is a powerful and fast-paced YA fantasy written in a distinctive and authentic young female voice. It will be published in North America by Chamber Press in late 2016.

Ian W Shaw

Ian W Shaw is an acclaimed writer of Australian history and has been much praised for his detailed research and engaging narrative style. Previous works include The Bloodbath (Scribe), On Radji Beach (Pan Macmillan), The Ghosts of Roebuck Bay (Pan Macmillan) and Glenrowan (Pan Macmillan).

Ian previously worked in security and counter-terrorism before deciding to devote more time to his growing career as a writer. With a passion for social history, Ian produces books that shine a light into the shadows of Australian history.

Ian’s latest book tells the little-known story of the ‘Small Ships Section’ and the Australians who, in the final months of 1942, changed the course of  WWII. The Rag Tag Fleet was published by Hachette in June 2017.

Sognia Vassallo

Sognia Vassallo works as a special education assistant in the Perth hills. She is the author of a series of five rhyming picture books for young children, Busy Bugs.

Sognia’s book for children aged 8+, I Think My Dad is a Spy (JoJo Publishing, 2015) was listed as a Children’s Book Council of Australia (CBCA) Highly Recommended book. The next book in the series, Is Oliver Crookshanks Really a Vampire?, follows the adventures of Sophie and her friends as they try to solve the latest mystery in Orchard Mead.